Armchair BEA Event!!

So, as you know, I am forever continually stuck either in my work or home environment. It really isn’t that bad.. but it means I don’t get to go to the BEA in NYC. This week, there is the Armchair BEA event with meme style posts and giveaways for the poor folks like me. I don’t know if I’ll ever make it out of Texas again, but I sure wouldn’t mind a mini-vacation.

Vegas calls..

AH!! Instead.. let’s focus.

Yesterday, we announced the big event with three HF Blogs: Burton Book Review, Enchanted By Josephine, and Historical-Fiction.com. Be sure to enter by Thursday night!! BEA non-partygoers only!! =) It is a great opportunity to win some of the best titles of the past year thus far.

Speaking of.. Armchair BEA asks today (here comes the meme thing) What books have you read that are your Best of 2011?

So far on my “semi- finalist” list, for different entertainment value reasons, we have:

Elizabeth I: A Novel by Margaret George (click for my review)
Finding Emilie by Laurel Corona (click for my review)
The Queen of Last Hopes by Susan Higginbotham (click for my review)
The Tudor Secret: Book 1 Elizabeth I Spymaster by C.W. Gortner (click for my review)

These are listed in order of my most favorite of the year, yet I gave them all the best rating of 5 out of 5 stars. But, the year is not quite half over yet, so I cannot wait to see what will be next on my list! Will it be Karleen Koen? Elizabeth Chadwick? Sharon Kay Penman? Probably.

What do you think? Did you get a chance to read any of these picks? Would you agree?

10 Comments

Filed under Armchair BEA, BEA 2011

10 responses to “Armchair BEA Event!!

  1. Marie–I am so pleased, and flattered, to be on your list, especially with some of my favorite authors!

  2. So glad to see Finding Emilie made the list — I have an ARC and am dying to start it!!

  3. I adored Elizabeth I.

  4. Hi Marie, I'm a new follower. I love historical fiction, will try out some of your recommendations!

  5. What books have you read that are your Best of 2011? I honestly don't have one I'd put in the best column yet. Several goods but still waiting on that ONE that really makes me sigh and go, "yeah! That's the one!". I did add several from your list, to mine and are off to check your reviews.(\___/)(='.'=) (")_(")alterlisa AT yahoo DOT comhttp://lisaslovesbooksofcourse.blogspot.com/

  6. Oooh, I have been a fan of works about Elizabeth I and the Tudors since I was a youngster (which was a couple years(ok, decades)ago!). You have a new follower.

  7. Unfortunately, haven't read any of them. I want to read them ALL! Especially Gortner's. I really love his writing!

  8. I too put Gortner's new one on my top list. And I have the Chadwick, Penman, and Koen on my anticipated list! Good choices!

  9. My husband is dying to go back to Vegas. And I owe him after Hawaii again. I have the Gortner book and plan to get to it soon. If a book blows your socks off, then it deserves a 5. Who cares how many 5s you have. Thanks for the list Marie 🙂

  10. Elizabeth I is definitely going to be on my list! Even if I didn't agree with you on Lettice's chapters… 😉 Have you read her novel Helen of Troy? I just purchased it at Half Price Books and I can't wait to start it!

Comment here (remember, this is a backup site only)

