Here comes another Philippa Gregory novel!

Ya love her or hate her… but ya gotta read her.. 😉
Spotted on Amazon:

Coming August 14 2012:

The Kingmaker’s Daughter (The Cousins’ War) by Philippa Gregory
In The Kingmaker’s Daughter, #1 New York Times bestselling author Philippa Gregory presents the riveting story of Anne Neville, her sister Isabel, and their ever-changing fortunes.

     The Kingmaker’s Daughter is the gripping and ultimately tragic story of the daughters of the man known as the “Kingmaker,” the most powerful magnate in England through the Cousins’ Wars. In the absence of a son and heir, he uses the two girls as pawns in his political games, but they grow up to be influential players in their own right. In this novel, her first sister story since The Other Boleyn Girl, Gregory explores the lives of two fascinating young women.
     At the court of Edward IV and his beautiful queen, Elizabeth Woodville, Anne grows from a delightful child brought up in intimacy and friendship with the family of Richard, Duke of Gloucester, to become ever more fearful and desperate when her father makes war on his former friends. Her will is tested when she is left widowed and fatherless, with her mother in sanctuary and her sister married to the enemy. Fortune’s wheel turns again when Richard rescues Anne from her sister’s house, with danger still following Anne, even as she eventually ascends to the throne as queen. Having lost those closest to her, she must protect herself and her precious only child, Prince Edward, from a court full of royal rivals.

So are you going to read it? I will definitely try to get a copy! My summer just won’t be complete without some fun Gregory reads! And I do know that I have always disliked The Kingmaker.. will Gregory humanize or demonize him?

My other reviews of the Cousins’ War series and Philippa Gregory books can be found here.

5 Comments

Filed under 2012 Releases, Caught My Eye, Philippa Gregory

5 responses to “Here comes another Philippa Gregory novel!

  1. I'm really interested in any book related to Anne Neville and Richard III's story but, after reading The White Queen, I'm really not tempted to read other novels by Philippa Gregory (if you want to know why, http://flyhigh-by-learnonline.blogspot.com/2011/09/white-queen-by-philippa-gregory-we-have.html) I liked the picture of Warwick, the Kingmaker, in The Sunne in Splendour by Sharon Kay Penman. He is a round character there, with an in-depth analysis of his personality. However, in this upcoming novel the protagonist should be Anne, not her father. I'm ready to give this book a chance and to compare this new portrayal of King Richard's queen with my previous readings.Thanks for this anticipation, Marie!

  2. And of course Anne will have some white-witchy powers to help out her ambitions.Sigh. But yes, I expect I'll read it. The Goodreads conversation around PG books is always (snarky) fun.

  3. I found you on book blogs. I am a new follower.Elleellesfadedparcment.blogspot.com

  4. Believe it or not…I'm one of those who doesn't always devour her novels (I've even left one or two to the side..gasp!)Dare I mention…You are so gutsy to start up another Gregory conversation!You know what this reminds me of? Remember awhile back how much 'troll' trouble the mention of Philippa caused?!Have a great weekend Marie:)Hugs

  5. As I devour anything about Richard III I will have to read this (even though you know my feelings on this author). I am very interested to see how she develops these characters and what her take on their stories will be.

Comment here (remember, this is a backup site only)

