Armchair BEA ~ Ask the Experts and The Future of Book Blogging

Today’s topic at Armchair BEA is the Ask The Experts. But I wanted to tie in the other feature posting on the Armchair BEA blog, the future of book blogging, which is a great post in itself. I started this blog in 2008, and there were blogs out there but they were not as respected as they are today. I remember some rants going on about the definition of a book blog versus book critic and how the critic was professional and book bloggers were all just a bunch of morons wanting free books. I see the whole industry of Book Bloggers as proving ourselves worthy of praise, and I would love to remember who those critics were four years ago so I can see where they are now. Because, ya know, some of them were pretty mean.

Since I really don’t have a question to ask an expert, I’ll offer a tip. Don’t get caught up in the drama. Just walk away. It can really ruin your day. Sometimes a silly comment aimed at your post or review is uncalled for.
I’ll share a fun example.. Something that will confuse the heck out of you because the commenter was really off her rocker… but a teeny back story here:
One of the things about historical fiction and reviewing books that deal with ‘real life’ people (that lived hundreds of years ago) is that some folks dispute the evidence/facts/theories.
I reviewed a novel by Philippa Gregory once (the horror!!).. and all of a sudden a troll out of nowhere started commenting on all of my Tudor era-themed book reviews and ripped apart anything and everything that she wanted to.
Slightly psychotic rants, on a book review no less, such as:
“For the benefit of those who don’t know I have today on You-Tube slapped down Phillipa Gregory not once but five times.

Isn’t there something in the States called the Freedom of Information Act?”

“What a chapter of amazing coincidences.

Not only was I born under the sign of the Ox but Georgette Heyer happens to be one of my fave authors only one of six.

For the record the remaining five are Conan Doyle, Wilde, Sayers, Stephen King and MR James”

“As the saying is ‘Walk into my parlour said the Spider to the Fly’

Thanks for walking into mine. For the record I don’t rant and rave. Why should I when you and so many of your fellow contributors do it so much better than I ever could?”

Moral of this story:
1. Don’t feed the trolls (like the one above).
2. Be careful what you put out there on your blog and comments elsewhere. The internet is here to stay, and so are your words.  (like the words of the troll above).
Previous Armchair BEA posts:
GIVEAWAY (today is the last day to enter!)
I had a lot of fun at the Twitter parties, and I enjoyed ‘meeting’ everyone!
I’d love it if you’ll follow me on Facebook, Twitter, or Goodreads
10 Comments

Filed under Armchair BEA

10 responses to “Armchair BEA ~ Ask the Experts and The Future of Book Blogging

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I was so scared when I switched to WordPress and believe me I was lucky to have someone answer my stupid questions. I have recommended the book WordPress for Dummies to some of friends that made the switch. Believe me if can do it anyone can but you have to do what you are comfortable with, it is definitely a personal choice. My advice to people no matter what format is back everything up often. If something bad happens you at least have a starting point. Better safe than sorry.I am so glad we connected this week!!!

  2. Wow…that was some troll. I just don't understand why people want to waste their time trolling like that…seriously I just don't get it. šŸ˜› Oh, well…don't feed the trolls is definitely sound advice. ;P lol I wasn't blogging in 2008, but I agree, it's great that Book Bloggers aren't looked down upon…at least not usually. It's the drama now that seems to be the only thing bloggers are looked down on for, and I agree about not getting caught in it. I pretty much try to just ignore the drama as much as I can. Life's too short to get caught up drama your whole life. I hated it in high school, and I still hate it 3 years later. šŸ˜› Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting today, Marie, and thanks for sharing your perspective and experience. :)Ambur

  3. Wow, I would probably write of that/those incoherent trolls as spammers. I've had experience with trolls in other fandoms, and at least they were coherent. But it is definitely wise advice. Delete, ignore or even ban, and they go away eventually.

  4. Yes, Sarah, definitely write them off. This one in particular was going around looking at all the Tudor reviews and really making a jerk of herself. Luckily she went away. She tried to open up her own Richard III Discussion blog, but went nowhere with it. Later I found out she is into some kinky stuff too.. weirdness! Glad she is GONE. (And I wish there were a way to ban people, though she was the only one).

  5. Thankfully, I have not had the *pleasure* of dealing with trolls, but I think your advice is perfect. Sorry you have had to deal with it though!

  6. Such good and sound advice as it can really ruin your day if you let it get to you!

  7. Odd. People seriously are weird. Freak show. OH, so glad you had fun at the twitter parties!! I Loved them so so much!! I'll cheerish them for a long time to come! Glad I met you! šŸ™‚ ENjoy and see you around šŸ˜‰

  8. Wow, those are some odd comments! Kudos to you for staying classy.If you have the time, Iā€™d love to hear from you at my intro armchair BEA post.

  9. I'm proud to say that I haven't so far got any troll comment but I feel for that person. He/She doesn't have anything to do but to bring down other people.Don't feed the trolls! damn right, I approve!I wish people would stop doing this kind of things. Seems really stupid of them. lol-JayWe Fancy Books

  10. The only rant fest I've had on my site has been over Philippa Gregory. People really should just chill out when they find not everyone in the world agrees with them. Makes life interesting, though, I guess šŸ˜‰

Comment here (remember, this is a backup site only)

